Eye movement

Probandin im Eyetracker
Probandin im Eyetracker

At the beginning of a cognitive and emotional processing there is usually the perception of external stimuli. Visual processing starts with the perception by the eye. For example, in reading the features of letters and words are first perceived with the eye, then forwarded to primary visual centers and finally fed to further analysis and assessment to higher cognitive centers.

Technology

An eye-tracker is essentially a sophisticated eye-tracking camera that records approximately every millisecond, the movements of the eye with a projected infrared reflex. This makes it possible to record precisely for how long letters in reading or specific areas of images or movies are fixated. Eye movement data provide initial evidence for the processing of visual stimuli. Which information can be processed by only one view? Processing of which information lasts longer? Does our brain process words, pictures and faces the same way? What are the effects of attention, working memory, reading, or emotional disorders on visual processing?

Use

As part of the Cluster of Excellence "Languages of Emotion", the eye movement measurement is used primarily in the exploration of the reception of emotional content in pictures, movies and literature. By recording eye movements and fixation positions on a millisecond basis, accurate information can be obtained on when a specific information from a certain medium is processed. Especially in combination with the other psycho-physiological and imaging techniques at the D.I.NE. (e.g. EEG, EDA, EMG, fNIRS, fMRI) one can establish a direct relationship between visual perception and cognitive and emotional processing.

Laboratories

In the three eye labs D.I.N.E. eye movements and positions of the eyes can be recorded with five high-speed eye tracker (iViewX; EyeLink 1000/2000, VisuaStim).

Blickbewegungslabore

Probandin im Eyetracker
Probandin im Eyetracker

Am Beginn einer kognitiven und emotionalen Verarbeitung steht meist die Wahrnehmung externer Reize. Visuelle Verarbeitung beginnt mit der Wahrnehmung durch das Auge. So werden beim Lesen die Eigenschaften von Buchstaben und Wörtern zuerst mit dem Auge erfasst, zu primären Sehzentren weitergeleitet und anschließend einer weiteren Analyse und Bewertung durch höhere kognitive Zentren zugeführt.

Technik

Bei einem Eyetracker handelt es sich im wesentlichen um eine hochmoderne Blickbewegungskamera, die etwa jede Millisekunde die Bewegungen des Auges über einen projizierten Infrarotreflex aufzeichnet. Dadurch ist es möglich, präzise zu erfassen, wie lange beispielsweise Buchstaben beim Lesen oder bestimmte Bereiche von Bildern oder Filmen fixiert werden. Blickbewegungsdaten geben erste Hinweise auf die Verarbeitung visueller Reize. Welche Informationen können wir „auf einen Blick“ verarbeiten, welche dauern länger? Verarbeitet unser Gehirn Worte, Bilder und Gesichter nach den gleichen Prinzipien? Wie wirken sich Aufmerksamkeits-, Arbeitsgedächtnis-, Lese- oder emotionale Störungen auf die visuelle Verarbeitung aus?

Einsatz

Im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters Languages of Emotion wird die Blickbewegungsmessung vor allem in der Erforschung der Rezeption von emotionalen Inhalten in Bildern, Filmen und Literatur eingesetzt. Dabei ermöglicht die Aufzeichnung der Blickbewegungen und -positionen eine Millisekunden genaue Information darüber zu welchen Zeitpunkt welche Informationen eines Mediums verarbeitet werden. Vor allem in der Kombination mit weiteren psycho-physiologischen und imaging-Verfahren (EEG, EDA, EMG, fNIRS, fMRI) lässt sich dadurch eine direkte Beziehung zwischen visueller Wahrnehmung und kognitiver und emotionaler Verarbeitung herstellen.

Labore

In den drei Blickbewegungslaboren des D.I.N.E. können die Blickbewegungen und -positionen der Augen mit vier High-Speed Eyetrackern (2 x iView X, SMI; 1 x Eyelink 1000, SR-Research; 1 x VisuaStim) aufgezeichnet werden.