Transcranial magnetic stimulation and transcranial direct current stimulation

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Gleichstromstimulator

Gleichstromstimulator

Erfassung der Handmuskelbewegungen durch EMG

Erfassung der Handmuskelbewegungen durch EMG
Image Credit: Bernd Wannenmacher

Neuronavigation

Neuronavigation

In recent years, non-invasive methods of brain stimulation such as the transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and the transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) have become increasingly important for neuroscientific research as well as for clinical use.

With these innovative methods, specific regions of the brain can be electrically stimulated through the skull (= transcranial). The primary target region for brain stimulations is the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex (DLPFC). It plays a crucial role in the processing of basic cognitive and emotional skills. A sufficiently long duration of stimulation leads to sustained changes in the excitability of cortical neurons, which last for several minutes or even several hours after the stimulation. The effects of a manipulation of neuronal activity can either be inhibitory or excitatory.

The use of non-invasive methods of brain stimulation enables researchers to investigate which neuronal structures are involved in cognitive processes and how emotions, memory, and language interact. By temporarily inhibiting specific brain areas (so called 'virtual lesions' are induced) causal links between cortical activity and cognitive task performance can be established.

Methods of stimulation can be implemented as therapeutical interventions for depression and several other psychiatric disorders. It has been shown that in many depressive patients, the left frontal lobe is less active and/or the right frontal lobe is more active than normal. This abnormal brain activity can be modulated through repeated stimulation of the frontal lobe, which can lead to a reduction in the depressive symptoms.

During transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS), a continuous current is administered through two electrodes which are placed on the scalp. Depending on the polarity of the stimulation, a reduction or an increase in cortical excitability can be achieved.

Both methods of stimulation are painless and free of side effects, and can be implemented in healthy subjects as well as in patients with psychiatric or neurological disorders. Subjects are awake during the treatment, rendering anesthesia unnecessary.

Technique

In TMS, a coil is placed on the skull tangentially to the surface. When a pulse is triggered, this coil induces an electric field in the underlying cortex via a temporarily changeable magnetic field. Repetitive TMS (rTMS) is when series of pulses of a certain frequency are applied. Depending on the frequency used, specific brain regions can be excited or inhibited. The intensity of the stimulation is defined by the individual threshold of cortical excitability. This threshold is determined by another threshold: the motor threshold. It is the minimal stimulus strength which reliably elicits a motoric reaction in the relaxed muscle. To this end, single TMS pulses are administered to the motor cortex and muscle movements of the hand are measured with the help of an electromyogram (EMG).

Using stereotactic neuronavigation enables a precise positioning of the magnetic coil to stimulate the intended brain region. Thereby, the position of the coil relative to the individual brain anatomy is projected onto a computer screen. Movements of the coil during the stimulation can be tracked in real-time.

Laboratory

The MAGSTIMLAB includes two TMS devices (MagVenture MagPro X100 and Nexstim NBS System) which can be neuronavigated. An additional stimulator (magstim Rapid²) can be used simultaneously with functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI). For the application of transcranial direct current stimulation, two battery-operated stimulators are used (NeuroConn and Schneider Electronic).

Transkranielle Magnetstimulation und transkranielle Gleichstromstimulation

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation
Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher
Gleichstromstimulator
Gleichstromstimulator
Erfassung der Handmuskelbewegungen durch EMG
Erfassung der Handmuskelbewegungen durch EMG
Bildquelle: Bernd Wannenmacher
Neuronavigation
Neuronavigation

Nicht-invasive Hirnstimulationsverfahren wie die transkranielle Magnetstimulation (TMS) und die transkranielle Gleichstromstimulation (tDCS, transcranial direct current stimulation) haben in den letzten Jahren sowohl in der neurowissenschaftlichen Forschung als auch in der klinischen Anwendung zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Mit Hilfe dieser innovativen Methoden können spezifische Hirnregionen durch den Schädel hindurch (=transkraniell) elektrisch gereizt werden. Die primäre Zielregion für Hirnstimulationen ist der dorsolaterale präfrontale Cortex (DLPFC), der bei der Verarbeitung grundlegender kognitiv-emotionaler Prozesse eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Bei ausreichender Stimulationsdauer halten die induzierten Erregbarkeitsveränderungen kortikaler Neurone einige Minuten bis Stunden nach Beendigung der Stimulation an. Es lassen sich sowohl hemmende als auch anregende neuromodulierende Wirkungen erzeugen.

Durch die Anwendung der noninvasiven Hirnstimulation kann untersucht werden, welche neuronalen Strukturen an kognitiven Prozessen beteiligt sind und wie Emotionen, Gedächtnis und Sprache miteinander interagieren. Indem einzelne Hirnareale beispielsweise temporär gehemmt werden (es werden sogenannte "virtuelle Läsionen" gesetzt), lassen sich kausale Zusammenhänge zwischen der Hirnaktivität und der Leistung in einer kognitiven Aufgabe aufzeigen.

Als therapeutische Intervention lassen sich die Stimulationsverfahren bei verschiedenen Krankheitsbildern einsetzen, u.a. auch bei Depressionen. Es konnte gezeigt werden, dass bei vielen depressiven Patienten der linke Stirnlappen minderaktiv und/oder der rechte Stirnlappen überaktiv ist. Durch wiederholte Stimulationen des Stirnlappens lässt sich diese gestörte Hirnaktivität modulieren, was zu einer Besserung der depressiven Symptomatik führen kann.

Bei Anwendung der transkraniellen Gleichstromstimulation (tDCS) wird über an der Kopfhaut angebrachte Elektroden ein kontinuierlicher Gleichstrom appliziert. In Abhängigkeit von der Stimulationspolarität kann eine Abnahme oder eine Verstärkung der kortikalen Erregbarkeit erzielt werden.

Die Stimulationsverfahren sind schmerz- und nebenwirkungsarm und können sowohl bei Gesunden als auch bei Patienten mit psychiatrischen oder neurologischen Erkrankungen eingesetzt werden. Die Behandlung erfolgt im wachen Zustand, eine Narkose ist nicht notwendig.

Technik

Bei der TMS wird eine Spule tangential zur Schädeloberfläche angelegt. Bei Auslösung eines Pulses induziert diese Spule ein elektrisches Feld im darunterliegenden Kortex über ein zeitlich veränderliches Magnetfeld. Werden Pulsserien in einer bestimmten Frequenz verabreicht, spricht man von repetitiver TMS (rTMS). Je nach verwendeter Frequenz können spezifische Hirnregionen angeregt oder gehemmt werden. Die Stimulationsintensität richtet sich nach der individuellen kortikalen Erregbarkeitssschwelle. Diese wird über die motorische Ruheschwelle bestimmt, die minimale Reizstärke, die im entspannnten Muskel reliabel/zuverlässig eine motorische Reaktion auslöst. Dazu werden einzelne TMS-Pulse über dem Motorkortex appliziert und die Muskelbewegungen der Hand mit Hilfe eines Elektromyogramms (EMG) erfasst.

Die Verwendung der stereotaktischen Neuronavigation ermöglicht eine präzise Positionierung der Magnetspule, um die gewünschte Hirnregion zu stimulieren. Dabei wird die Spulenposition über ein Infrarotsystem relativ zur individuellen Gehirnanatomie auf dem Computerbildschirm dargestellt und die Spulenbewegungen können während der Stimulation in Echtzeit verfolgt werden.

Labor

Das MAGSTIMLAB verfügt über zwei TMS-Geräte (MagVenture MagPro X100 und Nexstim NBS System), die neuronavigiert verwendet werden können. Ein zusätzlicher Stimulator (magstim Rapid²) kann simultan mit der funktionellen Magnetresonanztomographie (fMRT) eingesetzt werden. Zur Anwendung der transkraniellen Gleichstromstimulation werden zwei batteriebetriebene Stimulatoren verwendet (NeuroConn und Schneider Electronic).