Fieldwork and Ethnography as affective and relational processes

The post-doctorate project integrates approaches from social anthropology, primatology, psychology and comparative literature in order to develop a relational methodology of ethnographic emotion research.

Thomas Stodulka

What shall be labeled as ‘empirical affect montage’ targets the development of an alternative paradigm of ethnographic (emotion) research. Such an approach highlights fieldwork as an affective and relational process when encountering the so-called ‘culturally other’. This implies that the ethnographer’s affects must not remain invisible during the production, analysis, interpretation and representation of her or his findings, particularly once studying the emotions and emotion cultures of ‘others’. The researchers’ affects shall be made epistemologically productive in order to analyze (those of) researched individuals and communities.

To develop such an approach, three steps shall be taken: first, the project develops methods to assess twenty fieldworkers’ emotions empirically and targets the modelling of their typology and sequence. This first step targets an experience-based theoretical model of researchers’ affects in the field. Simultaneously, and this is the second step, the fieldwork of two closely cooperating doctorate students will directly apply the developed methodical tools in researching the ‘other’ and produce empirical data regarding their own affects. The latter will be analyzed in relation to the greater sample of the twenty field researchers in order to create thick empirical data on the affectivity of fieldwork. Ultimately, results from the meta-analysis and insights gained from the two pilot studies shall be integrated into an exemplary ‘empirical affect montage’ on ‘happiness’ in East Indonesia.

Furthermore, the developed tools are made available for junior fieldworkers and students in order to better guide them through their affective encounters in the field and the sometimes painful process of writing them up.


Logo Volkswagenstiftung

Feldforschung und Ethnographie als affektive und relationale Prozesse

In diesem Postdoc-Projekt sollen Ansätze aus der Literaturwissenschaft, Psychologie und Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie miteinander verbunden werden, um eine relationale Methodologie der ethnographischen (Emotions-) Forschung zu entwickeln.

Thomas Stodulka

Diese Methodologie soll als ‚Empirische Affektmontage’ bezeichnet werden, und die Affekte von Forschern und Erforschten während des gesamten Prozesses ethnographischer Wissensproduktion (Forschung im Feld/Verfassen der Ethnographie) zueinander in Beziehung setzen.

Um einen solchen methodischen Ansatz wissenschaftlich fundiert zu entwickeln, sollen zunächst die Affekte von zwanzig kooperierenden Feldforscherinnen und Feldforschern systematisch auf der Basis zum Teil selbst entwickelter quantitativer und qualitativer Methoden empirisch erhoben werden. Ziel ist hierbei die über-individuelle typologische und sequentielle Modellierung der Affekte von uns Forscherinnen und Forschern im Feld. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Dissertationsprojekten, welche versuchen diese Methoden exemplarisch in ihren eigenen Feldforschungen anzuwenden sollen ihre Pilotstudien in einem weiteren Schritt zu dem größeren Forscher-Sample in Beziehung gesetzt und analysiert werden, um möglichst ‘dichte Beschreibungen’ der Affekte im Feld zu produzieren. Schließlich sollen die Erkenntnisse, die aus der Meta-Analyse und den beiden Pilotstudien gewonnen wurden in eine ‚Empirische Affektmontage’ im Rahmen einer eigenen Feldforschung in Ostindonesien integriert werden.

Darüber hinaus möchten wir die neu entwickelten Methoden, die hierbei zum Einsatz kommen als methodische Hilfestellungen für Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -Forscher zur Verfügung stellen.

Logo Volkswagenstiftung