Talking (about) emotion: Emotion regulation through verbal expression (415)

The project is aimed at providing scientific evidence for the hypothesis that verbal expression and communication of one’s emotional state influences emotional self-regulation.

Emotion regulation refers to a person’s ability to modulate his or her own emotional state and to increase or decrease negative as well as positive emotions.

Emotion regulation and its neural correlates usually have been investigated with a focus on how individuals can exert voluntary control on their own through mechanisms such as attention deployment, cognitive reappraisal, or the wilful suppression of emotional expressions. However, experiencing emotions also stimulates, and is stimulated by, social interactions in which people verbally express and communicate their feelings to others. To date, mechanisms of emotion regulation dependent on expression and communication of one’s feelings have received little scientific attention.

The project will characterize such mechanisms on a subjective and psycho-physiological as well as on a neuronal level. Specifically, we will investigate the impact of verbally acknowledging or denying, exaggerating or understating an emotional response. Moreover, we will take a closer look at the dynamic process of communicating about emotions against the background of social comparison. Finally, we will investigate the impact of empathetic verbal comments on anger regulation.

Publications

Prehn, K., Kazzer, P., Bajbouj, M., Heekeren, H. R., Jacobs, A., Klann-Delius, G., Menninghaus, W. (2011). Regulating one's own emotions through strategies of verbalization. 53. Tagung experimentell arbeitender Psychologen. Halle (Saale).

Talking (about) emotion: Emotionsregulation durch Verbalisieren (415)

Das Projekt untersucht die Rückwirkungen der sprachlichen Mitteilung von Emotionen auf deren Erleben. Es soll gezeigt werden, inwiefern die sprachliche Kommunikation von Emotionen eine emotionsregulatorische Wirkung haben kann.

Unter Emotionsregulation versteht man die Fähigkeit, den eigenen affektiven Zustand zu beeinflussen und negative sowie positive Emotionen abzuschwächen oder zu verstärken.

Bislang stand die kognitive Komponente von Emotionen im Zentrum der Erforschung von Emotionsregulation (z.B. kognitive Umdeutung des emotionsauslösenden Ereignisses); dabei dominierte das Interesse an der individuellen ""down-regulation"" negativer Emotionen. Im Gegensatz dazu wurde die expressive Komponente von Emotionen bisher kaum auf ihre emotionsregulatorischen Potentiale hin untersucht. Der sprachliche Ausdruck von Emotionen ist in der Regel Teil sozialer Interaktionen, die Menschen aufsuchen, um ihre Emotionen auszudrücken und einander mit-zu-teilen.

Unser Interesse zielt auf die Untersuchung von Mechanismen der Emotionsregulation, die an den sprachlichen Ausdruck und die Kommunikation von Emotionen gebunden sind. Diese Mechanismen sollen hinsichtlich ihrer Wirksamkeit auf subjektiver, psycho-physiologischer und neuronaler Ebene charakterisiert werden. Im Fokus stehen Verbalisierungsstrategien wie Leugnen vs. Zugeben von Emotionen, Übertreiben vs. Untertreiben, der soziale Vergleich beim interaktiven Beurteilen emotionsauslösender Reize sowie empathische Äußerungen des Gesprächspartners in einer Konfliktsituation.

Publikationen

Prehn, K. Korn, C. W., Bajbouj, M., Klann-Delius, G., Menninghaus, W., Jacobs, A. M., Heekeren, H. R. (2014). The neural correlates of emotion alignment in social interaction.Social Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience 05/2014. doi:10.1093/scan/nsu066.

Seehausen, M., Kazzer, K., Bajbouj, M., Heekeren, H.R., Jacobs, A.M., Klann-Delius, G., Menninghaus, W. & Prehn, K. (2014). Talking about social conflict in the MRI scanner: Neural correlates of being empathized with. NeuroImage. 84: 951-61.

Matejka, M., Kazzer, P., Seehausen, M., Bajbouj, M., Klann-Delius, G., Menninghaus, W., Jacobs, A.M., Heekeren, H.R., Prehn, K. (2013). Talking about emotion: Prosody and skin conductance indicate emotion regulation. Front Psychol. 4: 260.

Seehausen, M., Kazzer, P., Bajbouj, M. & Prehn, K. (2012). Effects of empathic paraphrasing – Extrinsic emotion regulation in social conflict. Front Psychol. 3: 482.

Prehn, K., Kazzer, P., Bajbouj, M., Heekeren, H. R., Jacobs, A., Klann-Delius, G., Menninghaus, W. (2011). Regulating one's own emotions through strategies of verbalization. 53. Tagung experimentell arbeitender Psychologen. Halle (Saale).