Angry Texts. The Language of Aggressive Emotions in 20th Century German Literature

How does literature convey linguistically expressed anger? What purpose does that serve and what do the differences mean? The analysis uncovers concepts of an emotion and its relation to semiotic and symbolic practices.

Project No. G 211

Alfred Alexander Stumm

Anger is regarded as ambivalent in our culture. In parts of the stoic and Christian tradition it is even considered as purely negative since it is directly associated with cruelty. This study, however, conceptualizes the emotion primarily as a functional form of communication. Correspondingly, anger dominates literary texts not only as narrated angry actions of characters but also as solely expressed through language. These are essentially phenomena of the character's or narrator’s discourse. Thus, rhetorical and poetical aspects converge.

The main focus lies on the implicit linguistic presentation of aggressive emotions in 20th century German literature selected from different genres. First of all, the analysis of the chosen works describes the interplay of formal and semantic elements communicating the emotion. This raises questions of inner-textual and extra-textual pragmatics. The synthesis of the results shall define the scope of a new notion of literature studies: angry text.

Methodically the project works with the theoretical tools provided by the discourse on aesthetic experience. Furthermore, it is oriented towards the assumptions of traditional and current emotion theory and research. Accordingly, the foundation of the interpretations will be a cultural dispositive of the emotion family „anger“ which has to be ascertained before.

Discipline

Comparative literature

Supervisor

Prof. Dr. Oliver Lubrich

Prof. Dr. Hans Richard Brittnacher

Wütende Texte. Die Sprache aggressiver Emotionen in der deutschen Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts

Wie wird sprachlich geäußerte Wut literarisch vermittelt? Welche Funktion hat das und wie sind Unterschiede zu deuten? Die Analyse legt je aktuelle Konzepte einer Emotion und deren Beziehung zur semiotisch-symbolischen Praxis frei.

Projektnr.: G 211

Alfred Alexander Stumm

Wut oder Zorn werden in unserer Kultur als ambivalent angesehen. In stoisch-christlicher Tradition werden sie vielfach sogar rein negativ bewertet und unmittelbar mit Gewalt assoziiert. Die Studie begreift diese Gefühle hingegen primär als funktionale Kommunikationsformen. Als solche prägen sie literarische Werke nicht bloß in Gestalt erzählter, wütender Figurenhandlungen, sondern auch als rein sprachliche Wut – als Wut oder Wüten des Textes. Es handelt sich dabei wesentlich um Phänomene der Figuren- oder Erzählerrede. Poetische und rhetorische Aspekte konvergieren hier also.

Das Hauptaugenmerk gilt der impliziten sprachlichen Präsentation aggressiver Emotionen in gattungsübergreifend ausgewählten deutschsprachigen Texten des 20. Jahrhunderts. Am Einzelgegenstand wird zunächst das je eigene Zusammenspiel formaler und semantischer Faktoren zur Vermittlung dieser Gefühle herausgearbeitet. Daran anknüpfend stellen sich Fragen textinterner und -externer Pragmatik. Die Synthese der Ergebnisse soll schließlich das Spektrum eines neuen Begriffs der literaturwissenschaftlichen Forschung konturieren: "wütender Text".

Methodisch operiert das Projekt mit dem Instrumentarium, das der theoretische Diskurs über die ästhetische Erfahrung bereitstellt, und ist darüber hinaus an tradierten und aktuellen emotionstheoretischen Thesen orientiert. Entsprechend wird den Textanalysen ein zuvor zu ermittelndes kulturelles Dispositiv der Emotionsfamilie "Wut" zu Grunde liegen.

Disziplin

Komparatistik

Betreuer

Prof. Dr. Oliver Lubrich

Prof. Dr. Hans Richard Brittnacher