Between Norm and Nature: Visual and written concepts of motherhood in classical Athens

The mother is a highly emotional subject combining a multitude of cultural concepts whilst at the same time assuming an almost archetypical role.

Project No. G 312

Viktoria Räuchle

The mother is a highly emotional subject combining a multitude of cultural concepts whilst at the same time assuming an almost archetypical role. This interrelation between uniformity and diversity makes the figure of the mother an ideal object for historical research on emotion. This dissertation project aims at reconstructing the specific ideas and terms that governed the perception of motherhood and emotion in ancient Athens.

In order to capture the plurality of maternal conceptions at that time, a variety of visual (vase paintings, votive and grave reliefs) and written sources (tragedies, philosophical and medical treatises) must be collected and interpreted according to cultural historical criteria. This broad selection of information carriers forms the basis for the following questions: In which ways do images and written representations of mothers reflect ancient Athenian society? Or did such representations have a normative effect on the emotional experiences of mothers and/or their environment in antiquity?

In this context the ancient sources seem to reflect the phenomenon of motherhood alongside two conceptual spheres: norm and nature – nomos and physis. Taking into account the constructions of body, sex and gender at that time I will analyse when and why certain aspects of motherhood were considered as culturally constructed or as innate.

Discipline

Classical archaeology

Supervisor

Prof. Dr. Johanna Fabricius

Prof. Adrian Staehli (Harvard University)

Zwischen Norm und Natur: Bildliche und schriftliche Konzepte von Mutterschaft im Athen des 5. und 4. Jhs. v. Chr.

Die Mutter ist eine höchst emotional besetzte Figur, die eine ungeheure Vielfalt an kulturellen Konzepten in sich fasst und gleichwohl eine geradezu archetypische Größe darstellt.

Projektnr.: G 312

Viktoria Räuchle

Die Mutter ist eine höchst emotional besetzte Figur, die eine ungeheure Vielfalt an kulturellen Konzepten in sich fasst und gleichwohl eine geradezu archetypische Größe darstellt. Diese Einheit in der Vielheit macht sie zum idealen Objekt der historischen Emotionsforschung. Das Dissertationsprojekt möchte daher die spezifischen Vorstellungen rekonstruieren, die im Athen klassischer Zeit in Bezug auf Mutterschaft und Emotion prägend waren.

Um die Fülle an klassischen Mutterkonzepten zu erfassen, müssen möglichst viele unterschiedliche Bildgattungen (Vasenbilder, Bauplastik, Weih- und Grabreliefs) und Schriftquellen (Tragödientexte, philosophische und medizinische Traktate) herangezogen und nach kulturhistorischen Kriterien interpretiert werden. Fußend auf dieser breiten Materialbasis lässt sich dann erkunden, in welcher Weise die bildlichen und schriftlichen Mutterdarstellungen einerseits die reale Erfahrungswelt der antiken athenischen Gesellschaft widerspiegeln und wie sie andererseits normativ auf Mütter und deren Umgebung zurückgewirkt haben könnten.

Dabei scheinen die antiken Zeugnisse das Phänomen Mutterschaft stets entlang zweier Wirkungsfelder zu reflektieren: Norm und Natur – Nomos und Physis. Unter Berücksichtigung der antiken Körper- und Geschlechterkonzeptionen wird also auch zu erörtern sein, wann und warum bestimmte Aspekte mütterlichen Verhaltens und Fühlens als "kulturell gemacht" bzw. als "angeboren" erachtet wurden.

Disziplin

Klassische Archäologie

Betreuer

Prof. Dr. Johanna Fabricius

Prof. Adrian Staehli (Harvard University)