The affective foundations of sociality: Language, physiology and social differences (411)

What are our affective reactions to linguistic representations of social interaction? What is the role of automatic bodily reactions in these processes? And do patterns of such reactions systematically differ between socio-economic status groups?

The project investigates variations in the affective foundations of sociality between individuals with different socio-economic backgrounds. In a representative survey, we will measure the affective meanings of words from two semantic categories corresponding to basic dimensions of sociality: authority and community.

We assume that these meanings are the result of subjective experiences in social interactions. As such, they constitute a kind of (implicit) social knowledge that may differ between groups of people with different socio-economic backgrounds. To examine the relationship between affective meanings and social interactions, we run computer simulations based on Affect Control Theory to assess emotional consequences of prototypical sequences of social interaction. Moreover, we investigate the neural and physiological correlates of the affective experience of linguistic representations of social interactions. We measure electroencephalographic (EEG) activity and electrodermal responses (EDR) of subjects from different socio-economic backgrounds while reading words and descriptions of social interactions. We hypothesize systematic co-variations of social status indicators with affective connotations, emotional outcomes of social interaction and neurophysiological measures.

Die affektive Verankerung von Sozialität: Sprache, Physiologie und soziale Differenz (411)

Wie reagieren wir affektiv auf die sprachliche Darstellung von sozialer Interaktion? Welche Rolle spielen dabei automatische physiologische Reaktionen? Und wie sind diese Reaktionsmuster innerhalb der Gesellschaft verteilt?

Das Projekt geht der Frage nach, wie die affektive Verankerung von Sozialität entlang ausgewählter Kriterien sozialer Differenzierung variiert. Dazu untersuchen wir für eine repräsentative Bevölkerungsstichprobe zunächst die affektive Konnotation von Wörtern aus semantischen Feldern, die zwei elementare Kategorien des Sozialen widerspiegeln und zentral für Prozesse sozialer Kohäsion und Desintegration sind: Autorität und Gemeinschaft.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass diese Konnotationen vor allem auf subjektiven Interaktionserfahrungen und sozial vermitteltem Wissen basieren. Daher prüfen wir in einem zweiten Schritt mittels Modellierung und Simulation die affektiven Resultate prototypischer Interaktionen. In einem dritten, experimentellen Schritt untersuchen wir die Verkörperlichung (embodiment) von affektiven Interaktionserfahrungen. Dazu präsentieren wir Probanden unterschiedlicher sozialer Herkunft affektiv konnotierte Wörter sowie durch unser Simulationsmodell prognostizierte emotionale Interaktionsresultate und erfassen mittels Elektroenzephalographie (EEG) und Messung elektrodermaler Aktivität (EDA) neuronale und physiologische Korrelate der Reaktionen der Probanden auf dieses sprachliche Material. Wir vermuten systematische Zusammenhänge von sozialen Differenzierungskriterien, affektiven Konnotationen sowie Interaktionsresultaten und psychophysiologischen und neuronalen Aktivitätsmaßen.

Publikationen

Ambrasat, J., von Scheve, C., Schauenburg, G., Conrad, M., & Schröder, T. (2014, in press). Consensus and Stratification in the Affective Meaning of Human Sociality. PNAS.

Rogers, K. B., Schröder, T., & von Scheve, C. (in press). Dissecting the sociality of emotion: A multi-level approach. Emotion Review.